Sunday 4th October

The weekly “30” Card Game continues in the Community Centre on Friday October 9th @ 9pm. There is €220 in prize money on offer each night. Thanks to the ladies for the teas last week. Catering on Friday October 9th will be: Gillian O’Neill, Ann English, Frances Doyle and Bridget Bradley. Proceeds going to Parish Funds.

There was no punter lucky enough to have the four numbers in the Lotto Draw on Monday 21st. The exclusive numbers were: 1-10-13-27. The next draw for a Jackpot of €12,000 will be on Monday 5th October in the Boro Inn, Clonroche with the winning ticket seller receiving €1,000.

Will hold a meeting in the community centre this Wednesday 7th October @ 8pm. (note time) All members pleases attend.

Adamstown Show Committee will hold a meeting in the community centre this Thursday 8th October at 9pm. This meeting will be making final arrangements for the Annual Supper Dance to be held in the Stanville Lodge Hotel on Friday night 16th October commencing at 9:30pm. Music by the ever popular Theresa and the Stars until 1am. Tickets are limited at only €10 each. If interested in attending, please contact your usual Show Committee member immediately.

Adamstown Athletic Club is holding the Leinster Cross Country Even Age Championships on Sunday 25th October 2009 on the land kindly provided by Stewart and Gavin Rothwell in Adamstown village. It is specially a great honour for the club to host Leinster Championships as this is where all the great athletes are found. This year will be no exception as Dublin is hosting the European Cross Country in December. We will be expecting the cream of Leinster to take part in the championships as athletes will be aiming to impress and get selected to represent Ireland at the European Championships.
We will need a lot of HELP on this day. The club members on their own will not be able to cope with this event. If any club, organization or individuals can help out with car parking, track stewarding or teas, we would be grateful of your help. All donations of sandwiches, cakes, buns etc will be greatly accepted if you can help or donate please let Ellen Furlong know on 087 2375793.

Adamstown GAA Club presents a cookery demonstration with award winning chef Phelim Byrne on Thursday 19th November 2009 in the Horse and Hound, Ballinaboola. Wine and cheese reception and admission €20. A NIGHT NOT TO BE MISSED.

John and Breda Whelan, Rathkyle, Adamstown will host a coffee afternoon in aid of Wexford Hospice Homecare on Thursday 8th
October from 2pm. Your support would be much appreciated.

There will be a folk group practice on Tuesday 6th October in St Abbans Church @ 8pm. All members please attend.

Aerobics will commence in Adamstown community centre on Monday 12th October from 8pm – 9pm. All welcome to come along.

Birthday Greeting is sent to John Power, Coonogue who celebrated his 92nd birthday recently.

Courses available are: Beginners Computers, Photography & Digital Camera, Internet & Email, Afterschool Classes & ECDL, for more information on any of the courses please contact Anne or Chris on 051-428811 or 051-428805.

As you know, the annual Day for Life will be observed in Ireland this year on Sunday, 4th October. As usual, Family & Life will be promoting awareness of this day and encouraging people to participate in its Novena for Life. We have produced a novena card with prayers and petitions. Perhaps you would consider leading your congregation in these prayers at daily Mass during the days of the novena.
The specific theme which the Bishops have chosen for the Day for Life this year is suicide. It would be appropriate on this day to remember those women who have endured the trauma of abortion, many of whom have suffered adverse mental health consequences.

Anyone that wish to put a notice in the Adamstown Newsletter please be precise and straight to the point as space is limited.
Note: All notices to be printed in next weeks Adamstown Newsletter week ending 10th & 11th October could you please leave them with Cait Bradley no later than Thursday nights 8th.

If you suspect someone is using drugs, there are signs to look for. These listed below, will be a good guideline.
Mood changes,
Aggressive behaviour,
Lack of interest in normal activities i.e. hobbies, friends, or school work,
Loss of appetite,
Money and property going missing,
Strange smells, stains and marks on clothes,
The finding of providers, tin foil, plastic bags or needles
If you discover your child is using drugs, try to approach the issue calmly. Do not over react and frighten them as this could make the problem far worse than it is and prevent them from discussing the problem.
Talk to your child about the dangers of taking drugs. Tell them you are there to help and care for them. Maybe talking and finding out why your child turned to drugs in the first place is a step forward. The main thing for you is to gain their confidence. At all times remain calm.

THE PAPAL VISIT 1979 – 2009
The whole country shut down.
The date was Saturday September 29th when his Holiness was greeted by an estimated 1.4 million people in The Phoenix Park.
It was the day when business closed down and the streets of every town closed in Ireland. Resembled “a ghost town”. It was estimated that two thirds of the entire population travelled to the historic places associated with the Popes visit.

Sr. Helen would like to thank the committee and all the volunteers who worked so hard to make the Vintage Day such a huge success.
It was the first time that Eileen and I have been home for this fundraising event. We were amazed at how much organization and preparation was needed to be done before hand. It was most impressive to see the number of people who contributed in countless ways to the day, organised by the committee.
There was a marvelous out pouring of generosity and a tremendous sense of community spirit throughout the day. We extend our heartfelt thanks to all involved, those who worked before, during and after to make the day such a success.
We know that this yearly fundraising began with Fr Nolan’s idea of the Adamstown Parish reaching out to the poor in Africa.
Mass will be offered for all your intentions.
With gratitude, Sr. Helen Delaney.

Fr Jim Furlong and Fr Robert Nolan together will introduce a Prayer meeting for people from Adamstown and Raheen in St. Abbain’s Oratory every Sunday evening from 7pm-8pm. This prayer group will with the help of God continue at the same time every Sunday evening and everyone is welcome to join in.

The Annual Collection for the Missions will take place on Saturday October 17th and Sunday October 18th. Pope Benedict asks us to reach out to the Missions. Please give generously.

Sat 3rd October Mass @ 8pm– Denis Cummins (A),
Sun 4th October Mass @ 10:30am
Sat 10th October Mass @ 8pm – Johnny Kehoe, Rathurtin & Tom and Eliz Murphy, the Leap (A)
Sun 11th October Mass @ 10:30am – Paddy Larkin, Adamstown (A)

Let others be “right” for most of the time.